Connect with us

High School

(Photos) Eastern Region Competitive Cheer Finals Now In Record Book | L.A. City Section

Roosevelt, Garfield, Torres, Mendez, & Wilson All Place And Advance To First-Ever CIF/L.A. City Section Championship On Saturday, 5/12/18.

(East Los Angeles) The CIF/L.A. City Section Record Book has added another chapter for its newest sport, Traditional Competitive Cheer, as the inaugural Eastern Region Championship took place on April 14, 2018, at one of East Los Angeles’ newest high schools, Esteban E. Torres. 

After a two-year preparation period, Commissioner John Aguirre and (60) of the Section’s School Administrators, launched the first ever Competitive Cheer season. This competition was preceded by the Eastern/Southern League Championship which was held on March 16th.

This Regional Final was divided into four competitive Divisions and included a total of 20 teams. The first three finishers in each Division earned their way to the City Finals, scheduled for next May 12th at Birmingham HS. The next two Regional Championships, the Coastal (at Locke HS) and the Valley (at Birmingham) will take place on Saturday, April 28th. There will be a total of 36 Cheer Teams battling for the City Championship. For more information, click here.

Note From The Editor: We encourage you to view our exclusive interview with CIF/L.A. City Section Commissioner, John Aguirre, as he shares his  remarks, his evaluation, and his vision for the upcoming years of this exciting new sports program. In addition, you will also see interviews with the Co-Coaches from Garfield and Roosevelt, plus several with competitors from Roosevelt and Marshall.

Below, we’ve listed all teams by their respective Divisions.

Division IV: Franklin, Huntington Park, MACES, (MAywood Center for Enriched Studies), and Robert F. Kennedy.

Division III: Wilson, South Gate, Mendez, Bernstein, Lincoln, and South East.

Division II: Garfield, Eagle Rock, Legacy, Marquez, Bell, and Hollywood.

Division I: Roosevelt, Marshall, Torres, and Belmont.

Here is the complete list of the top three teams by Division:

D-I: 1st place – Marshall; 2nd place – Roosevelt; & 3rd place – Torres.

D-II: 1st place – Garfield; 2nd place – Hollywood, & 3rd place – Bell.

D-III: 1st place – South East; 2nd place – Wilson; & 3rd place – Mendez.

D-IV: 1st place – Huntington Park; 2nd place – MACES & 3rd place – Robert F. Kennedy.

We now invite you to view our story in Photo Gallery as shot through the professional lens of our staff photographer, Anthony Ramirez. You may also view the Championship in our video post.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

In-Studio Shows

More in High School